CitC Schedule 2013

School Term 1, 2013

Session #1
Wednesday, 20 March 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Shane O'Sullivan, University of Sydney
Topic: The Cosmic Engine
Slides (pdf)

Session #2
Wednesday, 27 March 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Prof Bryan Gaenser, University of Sydney
Topic: The Sounds of Space
Slides (pdf)

Session #3
Thursday, 28 March 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Jamie Farnes, University of Sydney
Topic: Cosmic Engines
Slides (pdf)

Session #4
Wednesday, 3 April 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Prof Ray Norris, CSIRO
Topic: The Astronomy of Aboriginal Australians

Session #5
Wednesday, 10 April 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Prof Geraint Lewis, University of Sydney
Topic: The Secret Lives of Galaxies
Slides (pdf)

School Term 2, 2013

Session #6
Wednesday, 15 May 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Krzysztof Bolejko, University of Sydney
Topic: The Structure of the Universe
Slides (pdf)

Session #7
Wednesday, 29 May 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Angel R Lopez-Sanchez, Australian Astronomical Observatory
Topic: The Real Colours of Galaxies

Session #8
Wednesday, 5 June 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Donna Burton, University of Southern Queensland and ANU Siding Spring Observatory
Topic: The Spotty Life of a Star

Session #9
Wednesday, 12 June 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Prof Michael Burton, University of New South Wales
Topic: Observatories of the World
Slides (pdf)

Session #10
Wednesday, 26 June 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Prof Jeremy Mould, Swinburne University of Technology
Topic: How do we measure how far away galaxies are?
Slides (pdf)

School Term 3, 2013

Session #11
Wednesday, 24 July 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Daniel Bayliss, Australian National University
Topic: Alien Worlds - Finding and Studying Exoplanets
Slides (pdf)

Session #12
Wednesday, 31 July 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Anna Sippel, Swinburne University of Technology
Topic: Learning about the Universe using Supercomputers
Slides (pdf)

Session #13
Thursday, 8 August 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Prof Michael Burton, University of New South Wales
Topic: Observatories of the World
Slides (pdf)

Session #14
Friday, 9 August 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: A/Prof Chris Power, University of Western Australia
Topic: Building Galaxies in a Supercomputer

Session #15
Wednesday, 21 August 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr James Allison, University of Sydney
Topic: Monster Footprints in the Invisible Universe
Slides (pdf)

Session #16
Wednesday, 4 September 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Joe Callingham, University of Sydney
Topic: The Bizarre World of Special Relativity
Slides (pdf)

Session #17
Wednesday, 18 September 1:00pm - 1:45pm
Speaker: Prof Bryan Gaensler, University of Sydney
Topic: World Records of the Universe
Slides (pdf)

School Term 4, 2013

Session #18
Wednesday, 16 October 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Prof Ben Eggleton, University of Sydney
Topic: Photonics in the new information age: Faster, smaller and greener

Session #19
Monday, 21 October 12pm
Speaker: Dr Martin Bell, University of Sydney
Topic: The Big Bang, the Cosmic Microwave Background Radiation, and the Big Rip

Session #20
Wednesday, 30 October 1:30pm
Speaker: Dr Paul Hancock, Curtin University
Topic: How the Death of Stars gives Life to the Universe

Session #21
Wednesday, 6 November 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Jonti Horner, University of New South Wales
Topic: Jupiter – Friend or Foe
Slides (pdf)

Session #22
Wednesday, 13 November 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Donna Burton, University of Southern Queensland and ANU Siding Spring Observatory
Topic: Baby Stars in the Universe

Session #23
Wednesday, 27 November 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Joe Callingham, University of Sydney
Topic: The Bizarre World of Special Relativity

Session #24
Wednesday, 4 December 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Prof Matthew Colless, Australian National University
Topic: The Giant Magellan Telescope

Session #25
Wednesday, 11 December 11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: A/Prof Chris Power, University of Western Australia
Topic: Building Galaxies in a Supercomputer

Session #26
Friday, 13 December 11:15am - 12pm
Speaker: Aina Musaeva, Sydney Observatory
Topic: Are there Planets around other Stars?

 

Note: All times are Australian Eastern Standard/Daylight Saving Time