CitC Schedule 2012

School Term 1, 2012

Session #1 flyer
Wednesday, 22 February
10:00am - 10:45am
Speaker: Mr Ben McKinley, Australian National University
Topic: Being a Scientist (slides)

Session #2 flyer
Wednesday, 29 February
9:30am - 10:15am
Speaker: Dr James Allison, University of Sydney
Topic: How big is the Universe? (slides)

Session #3 flyer
Monday, 12 March
10:00am - 10:45am
Speaker: Prof Matthew Colless, Australian Astronomical Observatory

Session #4 flyer
Thursday, 22 March
1:00pm - 1:45pm
Speaker: Prof Bryan Gaensler, University of Sydney
Topic: The Sounds of Space (slides)


School Term 2, 2012

Session #1 flyer
Monday, 30 April
1:30pm - 2:15pm
Speaker: Prof Steven Tingay, Curtin University of Technology
Topic: Aboriginal interpretations of constellations

Session #2 flyer
Wednesday, 30 May
10:00am - 10:55pm
Speaker: Dr Sean Farrell, University of Sydney
Topic: Black Holes (slides, photos)

Session #3 flyer
Friday, 15 June
1:30pm - 2:15pm
Speaker: Dr Greg Madsen, University of Sydney
Topic: What is Radio Astronomy? (slides)


School Term 3, 2012

Session #1
Wednesday, 8 August
11:45am - 12:30pm
Speaker: Dr James Allison, University of Sydney
Topic: How big is the Universe? (slides)

Session #2   flyer
Friday, 17 August
11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Fang Yuan, Australian National University
Topic: Cosmic Explosions (slides)

Session #3   flyer
Tuesday, 21 August
11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Martin Bell, University of Sydney
Topic: The Big Bang (slides)

Session #4   flyer
Friday, 31 August
11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Amanda Bauer, Australian Astronomical Observatory
Topic: Galaxies (slides)

Session #5
Monday, 17 September
10:00am - 10:45am
Speaker: Ms Kitty Lo, University of Sydney
Topic: The Solar System

Session #6
Monday, 17 September
12:00pm - 12:45pm
Speaker: Ms Sarah Reeves, University of Sydney
Topic: The Solar System


School Term 4, 2012
- part of Clickfest Virtual Excursions, NSW Government Education & Training  -

Monday, 5 November 2012
10:00am - 10:45am
Speaker: Dr Andrew Hopkins,
Australian Astronomical Observatory
Topic: Where do stars come from? (slides)

Wednesday, 7 November 2012
1:00pm - 1:45pm
Speaker: Dr Paul Hancock, University of Sydney
Topic:
Solar Eclipses and Planet Hunting (slides)

Thursday, 8 November 2012
1:00 - 2:00pm
Speaker: Prof Brian Schmidt,
Australian National University
Topic: The Expanding Universe (slides)

Tuesday, 13 November 2012
11:00am - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Fang Yuan
, Australian National University
Topic: Cosmic Explosions (slides)

Thursday, 15 November 2012
1:00 - 1:45pm
Speaker: Dr Greg Madsen, University of Sydney
Topic:
Einstein and Special Relativity (slides)

Friday, 16 November 2012
10
:00 - 10:45pm
Speaker: Dr Greg Madsen, University of Sydney
Topic:
Einstein and Special Relativity (slides)

Thursday, 22 November 2012
1:00pm - 2:00pm
Speakers: Dr Sean Farrell, University of Sydney
Topic:
Hunting for Black Holes (slides)

Wednesday, 12 December 2012
11:00 - 11:45am
Speaker: Dr Amanda Bauer,
Australian Astronomical Observatory
Topic: Galactic Astronomy (slides)

Note: All times are Australian Eastern Standard/Daylight Saving Time