The Dark Energy Collaboration Meeting

University of Queensland, St Lucia campus, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia.
6-10 November 2017

The Dark Energy Survey (DES) is an international project with over 400 scientists from 25 institutions in 7 countries.  The DES Collaboration meets twice yearly to advance the scientific goals of the project, discuss operational issues for the survey, and plan the strategy for forthcoming observing seasons.  Collaboration members share the progress made in recent months on both the key cosmology science  goals and the numerous ancillary science projects they are undertaking.  The forthcoming meeting in Brisbane in November 2017 is particularly noteworthy because the Collaboration will be finalising the results from the Year 1 dataset, which have the potential to yield significant new insights into the fundamental behaviour of the universe, and especially its most mysterious constituent: Dark Energy.

Blanco Telescope dome and Milky Way (Reidar Hahn, Fermilab)




  • Early Bird Registration(before 30 September 2017)  $450
  • Student Registration                                             $350
  • Registration Fee (from 1 October 2017)                  $550



  • Registration opens:                            March 2017
  • Oral Presentation Abstracts Close:     July 31, 2017
  • Poster Abstracts Close:                     September 30, 2017
  • Programme Available:                        Setptember 15, 2017
  • Early Bird Closes:                             August 31, 2017
  • Registrations Close:                          October 30, 2017


Childcare will be available for infants and children under 5.  Please indicate in your registration if you require childcare or contact Kylie Williams if you have any questions.

The sponsors are committed to making to making this workshops productive and enjoyable for everyone, regardless of gender, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, race, nationality or religion. We will not tolerate discrimination or harassment of participants in any form.  Please refer to our conference code of conduct.





  • Tamara Davis, UQ
  • Kyler Kuehn, AAO
  • Chris Lidman, AAO
  • Tara Massingham, UQ
  • Brad Tucker, ANU
  • Kylie Williams, USYD