The Sydney-AAO Multi-object Integral-field spectrograph (SAMI) puts 13 fused hexabundles, each containing 61 fibres, across a square-degree field of view. By performing a wide-field survey of 5000 galaxies, SAMI will provide a comprehensive spatially-resolved view of galaxy evolution.

The overwhelming difficulty in understanding galaxy formation is the complexity of baryonic physics, with multi-phase gas, star formation, dust, supernovae, super-massive black holes etc. all influencing the outcome of the galaxy formation process. The multi-parameter nature of galaxy formation has meant that much progress has been made over the last decade by conducting massively multiplexed surveys, allowing samples of up to one million galaxies to be constructed. These have, in turn, allowed detailed statistical analyses to be made, where the correlation between the multitudes of physical parameters can be studied.

What is lacking to address many of the most pressing current issues in galaxy evolution studies are surveys of similar scale, but yielding spatially resolved maps of galaxy emission. Such samples have the potential to profoundly impact the field of galaxy formation by addressing the physical processes at work.

The SAMI project aims to make the first massively multiplexed spatially resolved survey of galaxies to address the above issues. This will make use of the new Sydney-AAO MOS IFU (SAMI) instrument that is about to be commissioned on the Anglo-Australian Telescope. This system allows integral field observations to be made of 13 galaxies at once and will allow the construction of samples an order of magnitude larger than previously possible. The SAMI instrument has been built through collaboration between University of Sydney and the Australian Astronomical Observatory.

A galactic wind in Galaxy ESO 185-G031 observed with SAMI (circle = SAMI hexabundle footprint).

CAASTRO Researchers in this Project
Assoc. Prof. Scott Croom  (Project Leader)
 CAASTRO Member  Node
 Dr. Sarah Brough  Australian Astronomical Observatory
 Prof. Warrick Couch  Australian Astronomical Observatory
 Dilyar Barat  Australian National University
 Prof. Matthew Colless  Australian National University
 Dr. Francesco D'Eugenio  Australian National University
 Ms. Diane Salim  Australian National University
 Dr. Robert Sharp  Australian National University
 Dr. Edoardo Tescari  University of Melbourne
 Prof. Rachel Webster  University of Melbourne
 Mr. Simon Deeley  University of Queensland
 Prof. Michael Drinkwater  University of Queensland
 Prof. Jeremy Mould  Swinburne University
 Dr. Edward (Ned) Taylor  Swinburne University
 Dr. James Allen  University of Sydney
 Prof. Joss Bland-Hawthorn  University of Sydney
 Ms. Jessica Bloom  University of Sydney
 Dr. Julia Bryant  University of Sydney
 Dr. Lisa Fogarty  University of Sydney
 Ms. Rebecca McElroy  University of Sydney
 Mr. Samuel Richards  University of Sydney
 Prof. Elaine Sadler  University of Sydney
 Mr. Adam Schaefer  University of Sydney
 Dr. Nicholas Scott  University of Sydney
 Dr. Danail Obreschkow  University of Western Australia
 Prof. Chris Power  University of Western Australia
 Dr. Dan Taranu  University of Western Australia
 Prof. Roger Davies  University of Oxford, UK